Sale of Controlled Substances (Drugs) Rhode Island
Have You Been Arrested on a Rhode Island Criminal Sale of Controlled Substances (Drugs) Charge?
Did you consent to a search? Were you caught through entrapment? Having worked as a former police investigator, John R. Grasso knows how to fight the prosecution for drug sale and win.
If you’ve been accused of Sale of Controlled Substances, contact the Island law offices as soon as possible.
Definition of Sale:
Rhode Island Code Chapter 21-28 makes it a crime to sell controlled substances in Rhode Island. Let’s examine it in detail:
A controlled substance is a drug that is regulated by the Uniform Controlled Substances Act. It includes several types of substances including marijuana, heroin, cocaine, methamphetamine, and others.
The defendant must have known of the drug’s presence, and also offered it to someone else for sale. Also, partners who work to sell drugs for others, even if he or she isn’t caught in possession, may also be charged with this crime.
Many drug sale crimes are uncovered through local tips, sting operations, where a cop works undercover, or through entrapment.
This crime is far more serious in terms of penalties, than simple drug possession alone. Despite the clear definition of what drug sales entail, not all individuals arrested are guilty.
That’s where John Grasso comes in.
As a former cop, he now works on your side, to defend those arrested for drug sale and other drug-related crimes.
Penalties for sale vary and largely depend on the amount of drugs the defendant is found selling, manufacturing, or in possession of.
The court will also examine the type of controlled substance, and the defendant’s criminal history.
Whatever the case may be, let’s talk. Contact John R. Grasso now.
What Are the Consequences of Rhode Island Sale Charges?
Sale (less than 1 kilogram) is punishable by:
- Up to $100,000 in fines and/or
- Up to 30 years in prison
Sale (1-5 kilograms) is punishable by:
- Up to $500,000 in fines and/or
- 10-50 years in prison
Sale (more than 5 kilograms) is punishable by:
- Up to $10,000 in fines and/or
- 20 years to life in prison
Contact an Aggressive Drug Sale Defense Attorney in Rhode Island
Drug Sale can cost you a life in prison. However, you can fight bogus drug charges and save yourself from time in jail and thousands in fines. For those proven guilty, John R. Grasso can additionally work to reduce the fines and charges brought against you.
Discuss your case confidentially with John R. Grasso, and ask about our free consultations.
Contact the Rhode Island Law Offices of John R. Grasso now.
No tags for this post.