Rhode Island DUI Lawyer

Have You Been Arrested on a Rhode Island Criminal DUI-Driving Under The Influence Charge?

As a former police investigator, John R. Grasso knows how prosecutors will piece together the evidence for your case. Likewise, Mr. Grasso knows how to present the best defense.

Even with a positive drug or alcohol reading, there are several defenses that could either dismiss or reduce the charges brought against you.

The influence of John R. Grasso speaks volumes, having successfully defended numerous driving under the influence cases in Rhode Island.

If you’ve been arrested for DUI, contact the Rhode Island law offices as soon as possible.

Definition of Driving on a Suspended License:

Rhode Island Code Chapter 31-27-2 defines DUI-Driving Under The Influence as operating a vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

What Are the Consequences of Rhode Island DUI-Driving Under The Influence Charges?

DUI-Driving Under The Influence is a misdemeanor that’s punishable in Rhode Island by the following terms:

First DUI Offenses In Rhode Island

First time DUI offenders with a blood alcohol count concentration of .08%, or less than .1% by weight will face:

  • Up to $300 or no more than $100 in fines
  • 10-60 hours in public community service and/or
  • Up to 1 year in jail, plus:
  • Special DUI course
  • 30-180 days driver’s license suspension

First time DUI offenders with a blood alcohol count concentration of more than .1% by weight, or less than .15% will face:

  • Up to $400 or no more than $100 in fines
  • 10-60 hours in public community service and/or
  • Up to 1 year in jail, plus:
  • Special DUI course
  • 3-2 months driver’s license suspension

First time DUI offenders with a blood alcohol count concentration of more  than .15% by weight will face:

  • Up to $500 in fines
  • 20-60 hours in public community service and/or
  • Up to 1 year in jail, plus:
  • Special DUI course
  • 3-18 months driver’s license suspension

Second DUI Offenses In Rhode Island

Second time DUI offenders with a blood alcohol count concentration of .08%, or less than .15% by weight, and within a 5 year period, will face:

  • $400 in fines
  • Up to 1 year but no less than 10 days in jail
  • 1-2 years driver’s license suspension
  • Drug treatment program

Second time DUI offenders with a blood alcohol count concentration of more  than .15% by weight, and within a 5 year period,  will face:

  • $400 in fines
  • Up to 1 year but no less than 6 months in jail
  • 2 years driver’s license suspension
  • Drug treatment program

Third DUI Offenses In Rhode Island

Third time DUI offenders with a blood alcohol count concentration of .08%, or less than .15% by weight, and within a 5 year period, will face felony charges that include:

  • $400 in fines
  • Up to 3 years but no less than 1 year in jail
  • 2-3 years driver’s license suspension
  • Drug treatment program

Third time DUI offenders with a blood alcohol count concentration of more  than .15% by weight, and within a 5 year period, will face felony charges that include:

  • Up to $5,000, but no less than $1,000 in fines
  • Up to 5 years but no less than 3 years in jail
  • 3 years driver’s license suspension
  • Drug treatment program

Contact an Aggressive DUI-Driving Under The Influence Defense Attorney in Rhode Island 

The blood alcohol concentration is determined by a chemical analysis test. As seen above, penalties can increase with each subsequent offense. Other penalties may include installation of an ignition interlock device.

If you’re facing DUI charges, contact the Rhode Island Law Offices of John R. Grasso now.

Ask about our free consultations.