Have You Been Arrested on a Rhode Island Criminal Domestic Violence Charge?
John R. Grasso is a police turned domestic violence lawyer attorney who has seen it all – from both sides of the story. He will ensure that your story gets told.
Contact the Island law offices as soon as possible.
Definition of Domestic Violence:
Rhode Island Code Chapter 12-29-2 defines Domestic Violence as the following:
- Physical Abuse
- Mental Abuse
- Sexual Abuse
Domestic Violence encompasses over 15 laws according to this code. It could be a simple act of domestic battery, or a more serious offense such as kidnapping or homicide.
Domestic Violence also entails abuse toward:
- Someone who is residing in the household
- Someone who is related to the abuser
- Someone who has a child with the accused, regardless of marital status
The court will also examine certain factors, such as:
- Whether the couple or partners resided with each other over the last three years
- How often both individuals communicated
- The nature of the relationship, and if any protective orders were enforced
John Grasso will go beyond the accusations, to seek out medical reports, police reports of domestic violence, photos, DNA, and much more.
Whether you’re a victim or a defendant, let’s talk.
Contact John R. Grasso now to see what’s the best direction for a domestic violence trial.
What Are the Consequences of Rhode Island Domestic Violence Charges?
Depending on the type of domestic violence, aggravating factors, and the circumstances surrounding the case, many different types of penalties can follow. Here are a few types of domestic violence, and their consequences:
- Simple Assault – Up to $1,000 in fines and/or maximum of 1 year in prison
- Felony Assault – Up to 20 years in prison
- Vandalism – Up to $1,000 in fines and/or maximum of 1 year in prison, plus the possibility of victim restitution
- Disorderly Conduct – Up to $500 in fines and/or maximum of 1 year in prison
- Trespass – Up to $1,000 in fines and/or maximum of 1 year in prison
- Kidnapping – Up to 20 years in prison
- Child Snatching – Up to $10,000 in fines and/or maximum of 10 years in prison
- Sexual Assault – At least 3 years or up to 15 years in prison
Domestic Violence also includes homicide, protective order violations, stalking, cyberstalking, obstructing a telephone, burglary and more.
Contact an Aggressive Domestic Violence Defense Attorney in Rhode Island
Ask about our free consultations. Contact the Rhode Island Law Offices of John R. Grasso now.