Sex Assault Defense Lawyer Rhode Island

Have You Been Arrested on a Rhode Island Criminal Sex Assault Charge?

Many sex offenders have to register into a national sex offender database, which can follow you during job hunting, apartment leasing and more.

Don’t allow this accusation to mess up a good name. John R. Grasso has handled sexual assault cases from both the victims’ and defendants’ sides.

Whether you’ve been victimized or accused of sexual assault, Call John R. Grasso to find if representation is available now.

Definition of Sex Assault:

Rhode Island Code Chapter 11-37 defines Sexual Assault as willfully using a weapon, threat, violence or force to sexually assault someone else – against his/her will.

The varied types of sexual assault include:

First Degree Sexual Assault

– which involves sexual penetration as the key factor, and one or more of these situations:

  • The defendant used force, violence or threat to penetrate another
  • The defendant was aware that the individual being sexually assaulted was physically impaired, or mentally challenged
  • The defendant performed a medical examination for the purposes of sexual arousal or gratification

First Degree Sexual Assault within Rhode Island is a felony that is punishable by:

  • A maximum life imprisonment, or a minimum of 10 years

Second Degree Sexual Assault

– which involves sexual contact as the key factor, and one or more of these situations took place:

  • The defendant used force, violence or threat to penetrate another
  • The defendant was aware that the individual being sexually assaulted was physically impaired, or mentally challenged
  • The defendant performed a medical examination for the purposes of sexual arousal or gratification

Second Degree Sexual Assault within Rhode Island is a felony that is punishable by:

  • Up to 15 years in prison, and no less than 3 years

Third Degree Sexual Assault

– Is defined as when someone over the age of 18 sexual penetrates another over the age of 14, but is nevertheless under the age of consent within Rhode Island (this being 16 years of age).

Penalties for Third Degree Sexual Assault include:

  • Up to 5 years in prison

Sexual Assault Involving Children

When a sexual assault involves a minor, the following penalties can ensue

First Degree Child Molestation

– which involves sexual penetration of a minor under the age of 14. The penalties include:

  • A maximum life imprisonment, or a minimum of 25 years

Second Degree Child Molestation

– which involves sexual contact of a minor under the age of 14. The penalties include:

  • Up to 30 years in prison, and no less than 6 years

The title code further stipulates that even though there’s a duty enforced to report sexual assault crimes, no charges can be made unless a victim signs a complaint form with the police department.

The Rhode Island Law Offices of John R. Grasso have handled several chapters of sexual assault cases. If you’ve been accused of sexual assault, or you were the victim of such a crime, contact an attorney today.

Contact an Aggressive Sex Assault Defense Attorney in Rhode Island

Attorney John R. Grasso will manage the case from the first consultation, right until the very end. There are no loopholes, and no middle men to follow up with. Contact John R. Grasso directly for a free, no-obligation consultation today.

Call Us or email us!


Testimonials - See What Past Clients Are Saying about Rhode Island Defense Attorney John R. Grasso